2018 Award Recipients Honored at NKF Spring Clinical Meetings

Leading kidney disease researchers, clinicians, patient advocates, government officials, and corporate partners were honored at the National Kidney Foundation (NKF) 2018 Spring Clinical Meetings

Glenn M, Chertow, MD, professor of medicine at Stanford University and chief of Stanford School of Medicine’s Division of Nephrology, received the foundation’s highest honor, the 2018 David M. Hume Award. The award honors a “distinguished scientist-clinician in the field of kidney and urologic disease who exemplifies high ideals of scholarship and humanism in an outstanding manner.” Dr. Chertow’s research has focused on clinical epidemiology, health-services research, decision sciences, and clinical trials in acute and chronic kidney disease.

Krista L. Lentine, MD, PhD, is the 2018 recipient of the Dr. Shaul Massry Distinguished Lecture award. Dr. Lentine is professor of medicine and the medical director of living kidney donation at SSM Health at St. Louis University Hospital. Her work is concentrated in novel integration and application of national registries, administrative claims data, and other electronic health information as they relate to topics in transplant epidemiology, outcomes, economics, and policy. Dr. Lentine presented the 2018 Massry Lecture, “Balancing Risk and Autonomy in Living Kidney Donation—A New Framework for Shared Decision Making,” on April 11 at the Spring Clinical Meetings.

The 2018 Donald W. Seldin Distinguished Award was presented to Jeffrey S. Berns, MD, professor of medicine and pediatrics at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania. The award honors “excellence in clinical nephrology in the tradition of more of the foremost teachers and researchers in the field.” Dr. Berns is also the associate chief of the Renal, Electrolyte, and Hypertension Division, director of the Nephrology Fellowship Training Program, and associate dean for graduate medical education.

Lesley A. (Stevens) Inker, MD, MS, was honored with the 2018 Garabed Eknoyan Award, recognizing individuals who have worked to make life better for people living with kidney disease through contributions to NKF initiatives such as the Kidney Disease Outcomes Quality Initiative or clinical research in kidney disease. Dr. Inker is an attending physician and director of the Kidney and Blood Pressure Center in the William B. Schwartz MD Division of Nephrology at Tufts Medical Center and associate professor at Tufts University School of Medicine.

The 2018 Corporate Innovator Award was given to Keryx Biopharmaceuticals. In November 2017, the US FDA expanded approval of Auryxia® (ferric citrate) tablets to include treatment of iron deficiency anemia in adults with non-dialysis-dependent chronic kidney disease. Ferric citrate is the only oral treatment option developed and approved specifically for that patient population.

Alan S. Kliger, MD, is the recipient of the 2018 J. Michael Lazarus Distinguished Lecture. Dr. Kliger is a clinical professor of medicine at Yale University School of Medicine and vice president and medical director of clinical integration at Yale New Haven Health System. He presented the 2018 Lazarus lecture titled “Quality and Safety in Dialysis: Emphasis on Achieving Zero Preventable Infections” on April 13 at the Spring Clinical Meetings.

The 2018 Public Service Award was presented to Andrew S. Narva, MD, director of the National Kidney Disease Education Program at the National Institutes of Health. He is also the chief clinical consultant for nephrology for Indian Health Services and provides care for patients at Zuni Pueblo via a telemedicine clinic and at Walter Reed National Military Center.

Harry Senekjian, MD, was given the 2018 Medical Advisory Board Distinguished Service Award, recognizing individuals for their educational activities and community service in promoting the mission of the NKF on a local level. Dr. Senekjian is a member of the clinical faculty at the University of Utah and the current chairman of the Medical Advisory Board of the NKF of Utah and Idaho.

The 2018 Celeste Castillo Lee Patient Engagement Award was presented to Risa Simon. The award is given to a kidney patient “who exemplifies the foundation’s mission and Lee’s legacy of putting patients at the center of all aspects of Healthcare through their involvement with NKF and community partners.” Ms. Risa is a preemptive kidney transplant recipient whose personal experience with kidney disease led her to proactively seek a living donor. She now advocates for others to do the same.

Angela Yee Moon Wang, MD, PhD, received the 2018 Joel D. Kopple Award honoring an individual who had made significant contributions to the field of renal nutrition. Dr. Wang is a clinician-scientist at the University of Hong Kong, Queen Mary Hospital. She is also president-elect of the International Society of Renal Nutrition and Metabolism. Her research has demonstrated the integral connections between nutrition and kidney and heart health, and have clarified the causes of protein energy wasting syndrome, a frequent and dangerous complication for patients with kidney failure.